:: IBS :: Interesting Books Selector :: Home | Contact | Imprint :: Find only [ english | german | french ] :: All languages :: All authors :: All titles :: All categories :: Categories [ Current controversies | Economy | Fiction | Hardware | History | Internet | Liberty | Mathematical recreation | Mathematics | Philosophy | Psychology | Political philosophy | Politics | Science | Software design ]
Type first few letters of name: author title


A Mathematician Plays The Stock Market

John Allen Paulos

Buy this book at Amazon.com or try Amazon.co.uk in England, Amazon.ca in Canada, Amazon.de in Germany, Amazon.fr in France, Amazon.it in Italy, Amazon.es in Spain. ASIN=0465054811, Category: Investment, Language: E, cover: PB, pages: 216, year: 2004. Zu Facebook hinzufügen Zu Twitter hinzufügen Zu Delicious hinzufügen Zu Google +1 hinzufügen Zu Google hinzufügen Zu Mister Wong hinzufügen

Book Description
From America's liveliest writer on mathematics, a witty and insightful book on the stock market and the irrepressibility of our dreams of wealth.

In A Mathematician Plays the Stock Market best-selling author John Allen Paulos demonstrates what the tools of mathematics can tell us about the vagaries of the stock market. Employing his trademark stories, vignettes, paradoxes, and puzzles (and even a film treatment), Paulos addresses every thinking reader's curiosity about the market: Is it efficient? Is it rational? Is there anything to technical analysis, fundamental analysis, and other supposedly time-tested methods of picking stocks? How can one quantify risk? What are the most common scams? What light do fractals, network theory, and common psychological foibles shed on investor behavior? Are there any approaches to investing that truly outperform the major indexes? Can a deeper knowledge of mathematics help beat the odds?

All of these questions are explored with the engaging erudition that made Paulos's A Mathematician Reads the Newspaper and Innumeracy favorites with both armchair mathematicians and readers who want to think like them. Paulos also shares the cautionary tale of his own long and disastrous love affair with WorldCom. In the tradition of Burton Malkiel's A Random Walk Down Wall Street and Jeremy Siegel's Stocks for the Long Run, this wry and illuminating book is for anyone, investor or not, who follows the markets-or knows someone who does.


Want to buy a different edition or a book not found in our catalogue? If you know the 10-digit ISBN or ASIN, enter it here (without any spaces and dashes) and click Submit to generate a generic link to Amazon:
To search a book author or title keyword in our catalogue, please use keyword search. Copyright (2004-2016) by interesting-books-selector.com (IBS); last script update: 07-Jun-2016; webdesign by otolo.com

Privacy: We do not use cookies for collecting personal information from this site.Disclaimer (and Imprint) [Summary: External links are being provided as a convenience and for informational purposes only; they do not constitute an endorsement or an approval by IBS of any of the products, services or opinions of the corporation or organization or individual. IBS bears no responsibility for the accuracy, legality or content of the external site nor for any subsequent links.]
Advertisements :: Music for the Inquiring Mind and the Passionate Heart: LEO RECORDS :: (Multilingual) Find a free host and make friends while travelling internationally: beWelcome.org (BW) :: (German only) Finden Sie einen Reisepartner - einfach, gratis und ohne Registrierung: reisepartner-gesucht.de :: (Multilingual) Get your encrypted mailbox for free: Tutanota.com